Inside Textiles

Free membership

Receive our weekly Newsletter
and set tailored daily news alerts.


Finalists announced for International Woolmark Prize global final

Each will gain a financial contribution of AU$ 70,000 for the development of their business and capsule collection.

13th July 2018

Innovation in Textiles
 |  Sydney


Following three semi-final events held in Hong Kong, London and New York, the 12 fashion labels to compete in the global final of the 2018/19 International Woolmark Prize have been decided. Chosen from more than 300 applicants from across 46 countries, the winners are amongst the most promising fashion design talents from across the globe and will each gain a financial contribution of AU$ 70,000 for the development of their business and capsule collection.

Finalists will be invited to compete in the prestigious global final to be held in London in February 2019 as well as receiving mentoring support from a global panel of experts, showcasing opportunities and a Woolmark licence, one of the world’s best-known textile quality fibre brands providing a unique, global fibre quality assurance for consumers.

Finalists selected during the Hong Kong semi-final. © The Woolmark Company

“Now in its seventh year the International Woolmark Prize has evolved into one of the biggest fashion awards of its calibre and so we have restructured the program to ensure our nominees and finalists receive the highest level of industry support and guidance,” explains The Woolmark Company Managing Director Stuart McCullough.

“The exceptional quality demonstrated by this year’s designers not only reinforces the strength of the award but also proves Australian wool’s relevance on the global stage. Wool’s inherent benefits combined with its eco-credentials provide designers with countless possibilities and I am excited to see what innovative designs are showcased at the global final next year.”

For the next seven months, the finalists will be required to develop a capsule collection of six looks in Merino wool, to be showcased at an extraordinary event that will highlight the 12 finalists selected from across the globe.

Finalists selected during the London semi-final. © The Woolmark Company

The 12 global finalists are: Albus Lumen – Australia; Angel Chen – China; Brandon Maxwell – US; Cmmn Swdn – Sweden; Colovos – US; Daniel w. Fletcher – UK; Edward Crutchley – UK; i-am-chen – Hong Kong; Nicholas Daley – UK; Willy Chavarria – United States; Yohei Ohno – Japan; and Youser – Korea.

One menswear and one womenswear winner will receive a further AU$ 200,000 financial contribution at the global final, as well as mentoring from industry experts to help propel their business to the next stage. One finalist will also be selected for the second edition of the Innovation Award, which celebrates the most innovative and creative wool fabrications, process or development and rewards the finalist with a financial contribution of AU$ 100,000.

Finalists selected during the New York semi-final. © The Woolmark Company

The total combined amount a prize winner has the potential to win is AU$ 370,000. In addition, winners will have the opportunity to have their collection distributed through the prize’s prestigious international retail partner network which includes Boutique 1, Boon the Shop, David Jones, Harvey Nichols, Hudson’s Bay Company, Lane Crawford, Leclaireur,, Parlour X,, Sugar, Takashimaya, Tata CLIQ Luxury and

Latest Reports

Business intelligence for the fibre, textiles and apparel industries: technologies, innovations, markets, investments, trade policy, sourcing, strategy...

Find out more