Techtextil North America

Free membership

Receive our weekly Newsletter
and set tailored daily news alerts.


Microban Director of Innovations receives award

Gina Sloan was recognised at the AATCC International Conference Awards Luncheon in Fort Worth, TX, last month.

8th May 2019

Innovation in Textiles
 |  Research Triangle Park, NC

Medical/Hygiene, Clothing/​Footwear

Gina Sloan, Director of Innovations at Microban. © MicrobanGina Sloan, Director of Innovations at Microban, a leader in textile odour control and prevention, has received the 2019 AATCC Technical Committee on Research (TCR) Service Award for her leadership of AATCC’s RA31 Antimicrobial Activity Test Methods research committee. She was recognised at the AATCC International Conference Awards Luncheon in Fort Worth, TX, last month.

Dr Sloan joined AATCC in 2011 and became chair of RA31 in 2012. She served in a leadership position on this committee through 2018. Under Sloan’s guidance, the committee actively influenced the textile chemistry field. Committee projects included conferences and development of several new test methods. The group also reviewed and suggested revisions of established methods, notably, AATCC TM100, Antibacterial Finishes on Textile Materials: Assessment of. During Sloan’s tenure as chair, RA31 established liaisons with other AATCC research committees to work on projects related to odour.

Sloan has been a member of AATCC RA23, Colorfastness to Water Test Methods since 2016. She served on TCR from 2016 through 2018 and AATCC C2-S1, International Test Methods from 2015 through 2018.

Sloan began at Microban International in 2011 and is currently Director of Innovations. She holds a BS in Biology from Western Carolina University, and a PhD in Molecular Genetics from Wake Forest University.

The Technical Committee on Research Service Award was established in 2008 to recognise those members who have contributed greatly to the AATCC organization in a technical capacity. Senior members of the Association with at least five years of continuous membership in AATCC, who have contributed outstanding technical service to the Association through activity in a research committee, are eligible.

Selection is by unanimous choice of the TCR Service Award Committee composed of the current chair, vice chair, and secretary of the Technical Committee on Research (TCR), as well as the chair of the Executive Committee on Research (ECR). The Award consists of a plaque and an honorarium, presented at the International Conference.

Further reading

Microban celebrates International Woman’s Day

Latest Reports

Business intelligence for the fibre, textiles and apparel industries: technologies, innovations, markets, investments, trade policy, sourcing, strategy...

Find out more